Skip to main content

Association Leadership



LASS Leadership


David Claxton


David Claxton (Jackson Parish), President

30 Years in Education

7th year as Superintendent in Jackson Parish

  • 1993-1999 Sp. Ed Teacher at Rayville Elementary School
  • 1999-2003 Educational Assistant (Assistant Principal) at Rayville Elementary School
  • 2003-2004 Principal at Delhi Elementary School
  • 2004-2016 Principal at Sallie Humble Elementary School (Monroe City)






Dr. Ken Oertling, Vice President, St. Charles Parish

4th Year as Superintendent in St. Charles Parish

  • 2019-present Superintendent, St. Charles Parish Public Schools
  • 2015-2019 Executive Director Secondary Schools, St. Charles Parish Public Schools
  • 2010-2015 Principal, Hahnville High School
  • 2006- 2010 Assistant Principal, Hahnville High School
  • 2001-2006 High School Science Teacher, Hahnville High School
  • 1991-1997 United States Navy







Sheldon Jones, (Richland), Immediate Past-President

27 years in Education
12th year as Superintendent in Richland Parish

  • 1996-2004 ELA Teacher and Coach at Delhi Middle School
  • 2004-2005 Assistant Principal at Rayville Elementary School
  • 2006-2007 Principal at Delhi Middle School
  • 2007-2011 Secondary Curriculum Supervisor


Contact Information

Louisiana Association of School Superintendents
2713 Indian Mound Blvd.
Monroe, Louisiana 71201
Phone: 225-229-6021

LASS Executive Director

LASS on Twitter

Share This Page